Gettin’ my Egypt on…

The first couple of weeks in “Ancient Civilizations of Egypt” has definitely added some new words to my vocabulary: alluvium, bi-facial, Levallois, and Chalcolithic to name a few.  I have found reading archaeological text to be at times tedious and fascinating, but mostly tedious.  Tedious only in the sense that because I am not a professional archaeologist the readings take longer because I am constantly looking up new terms.  However the content (once I know what the author(s) are talking about) is very interesting.

After reading The Geography of Excavated Predynastic Sites and the Rise of Complex Society by Kathryn Bard, I have come to consider, based on her interpretation of other peoples work, that there is no hope for cultures to bridge the gap between classes.  According to Bard, trade in Predynastic Egypt was not predicated on utilitarian and subsistence needs but rather for status.  If humankind as been so preoccupied by having material wealth from 3000 B.C.E. surely there is no end in sight for this to change. ~TB

Predynastic Egypt

2 thoughts on “Gettin’ my Egypt on…

  1. I also find myself having to look up archeological terms that I have not heard of before this class. However, despite that I have found myself thoroughly enjoying the reading. It is sad that it seems like we will forever be living with gaps within our society. While I do not think, it will ever fully go away; maybe it will decrease over time… well I hope it will anyway.
    -Ali B

Leave a Reply

