Sometimes tyrants…..

Sometimes tyranny isn’t so subtle or creative.
― Steven Wood Collins, Puramore: The Lute of Pythagoras

When I look at this quote, I think its a pretty fair summary of Ancient Egypt. If you take a look at the paintings of hieroglyphs upon the walls in Ancient Egypt, they tell a story. Part of the stories were good, but some of the Pharaoh’s were evil and were known for the statement “Pharaoh speaks!” for a good reason. As a girl I was in love with the mysticism of Egypt and I wanted to be an archaeologist like Indiana Jones. I thought it would be interesting to go to dig sites and uncover the history of those before us.

I then realized what Archaeologist call uncovering, others consider disturbing the dead. But  in this class I would like to decipher the good from the bad, real from the not so real that we have heard from the Media (movies, books, newspaper). I have a relatively negative picture of Egypt in my minds eye and I hope to love it as I once did. – CL

One thought on “Sometimes tyrants…..

  1. I hope you leave the class with a different view of the Egyptians! But I understand your concern about disturbing the dead. We wouldn’t think of digging up the body of George Washington and displaying it in a museum, but we don’t hesitate to do it to older cultures. I suppose the long stretch of time is one reason.

Leave a Reply

